World Time Zone Map (2023)

The world time zone map uses a repeating color scheme to designate the different standard time zones observed in each country. Most countries do not adjust their time zone observance and when they do it most likely involves small boundary changes or changes in the observance of daylight saving time. The world time zone map indicates the standard time zones actually observed. In theory time zones are based on the division of the world into twenty four time zones of 15 degrees longitude each. The time convention begins with Universal Coordinated Time (UTC) which is also commonly referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) being located at the Greenwich meridian. This line runs through the United Kingdom, France, Spain, Algeria, Mali and Ghana in Africa. The Greenwich meridian time zone is 7 1/2 degrees east and 7 1/2 degrees west of zero degrees longitude. Time zones to the east of the Greenwich meridian are later and time zones to the west of the Greenwich meridian are earlier. To see more detail view our larger format world time zone map.

World Time Zone Map (1)

World Time Zone Map (2)

This world time zone map shows the division of the world into twenty four time zones of 15 degrees longitude each. However, if you compare this theoretical system with actual time usage throughout the world, you will see there are many variations in how countries actually observe time zones. The reasons for this vary but include commerce and transportation.



All dates are shown in the format: month/day/year

About US|Terms of Use|Privacy|Contact

The information contained on this page is subject to our Terms of Use.

Site Copyright © 2000-2023, Inc.


World Time Zone Map? ›

There are 24 regions (Time Zones) around the world with a time difference of one hour.

How many time zones are there in the world responses? ›

There are 24 regions (Time Zones) around the world with a time difference of one hour.

How many time zones are there in America give a reason for your answer? ›

The six time zones within the 50 US states are – Alaska time, Central time, Eastern time, Hawaii-Aleutian time, Mountain time, and Pacific time.

Which is the only US state to have more than 1 time zone? ›

Alaska is the largest state in the country, so it only stands to reason that it is in two time zones. But did you know that Alaska actually has a time zone all its own? This, called the Alaska time zone, covers almost every piece of the state. The exceptions in Alaska are the Aleutian Islands and St.

Is there a place where all the time zones meet? ›

At the North Pole, 24 time zones collide at a single point, rendering them meaningless.

Are there only 24 time zones? ›

Due to some countries having half hour time zones, there are more than 24 times zones in the world. Most countries, especially the smaller ones, have only one time zone. There are 23 countries with at least two time zones.

Does the US have 3 or 4 time zones? ›

The contiguous US has 4 standard time zones. In addition, Alaska, Hawaii, and 5 US dependencies all have their own time zones. As neither Hawaii nor the 5 dependencies use Daylight Saving Time (DST), there are only 6 corresponding DST time zones.

Why does USA have 5 timezones? ›

The federal organization in charge of railroad regulation – the Interstate Commerce Commission – was given the power to address coordination concerns in 1918. That year, five time zones were officially adopted as the US entered World War I: the Eastern, Central, Mountain, Pacific, and Alaskan zones still in use today.

Why did the US create 4 time zones? ›

The need for continental time zones stemmed directly from the problems of moving passengers and freight over the thousands of miles of rail line that covered North America by the 1880s. Since human beings had first begun keeping track of time, they set their clocks to the local movement of the sun.

Why does Russia have 11 time zones? ›

Russia was divided into eleven time zones in 1919, after the Bolshevik Revolution. Russia is a huge country by area expanding from east to west in the northern hemisphere and therefore, the country felt the need to adopt 11 time zones. The time in Russia ranges from UTC+02:00 to UTC+12:00.

Which US state has three time zones? ›

For example, most of Alaska uses Alaska Time, which spans three standard time zones. The state used two time zones until 1983, when it placed the capital, Juneau, in the same time zone as the more populous Anchorage and Fairbanks. China spans four time zones but uses only one.

Is California always 3 hours behind New York? ›

California is 3 hours behind New York. Press any time in the table below to open and share the event time page.

Why does Florida have two time zones? ›

In Florida, the time line was established along the Apalachicola River, beginning at the Georgia border and following the fiver to the south. However, the time line does not go all the way to the coast as the river does.

What are the rarest time zones? ›

There is one timezone that is completely uninhabited: the UTC-12:00. It covers only two islands: Baker Island and Howland Island that are both uninhabited (owned by US).

What is the oldest time zone in the world? ›

Kiribati – pronounced Kiribas – is the only nation on Earth to permanently trespass into GMT+14: the earliest time zone in the world. You can think of Kiribati as the eternal land of tomorrow: if it's Sunday where you are, it's probably Monday in Kiribati.

What country does the day start? ›

According to the clock, the first areas to experience a new day and a New Year are islands that use UTC+14:00. These include portions of the Republic of Kiribati, including Millennium Island in the Line Islands.

How many time zones does Russia have responses? ›

There are eleven time zones in Russia, which currently observe times ranging from UTC+02:00 to UTC+12:00. Daylight saving time (DST) has not been used in Russia since 26 October 2014. From 27 March 2011 to 26 October 2014, permanent DST was used.

Are there 38 time zones? ›

We all have 24 hours in our day, but there are 38 time zones observed across the world offset from Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), and each country gets to pick the one it aligns with. Some of them are straightforward and sensible, and some of them are downright quirky, working completely against expectation.

Are there 11 time zones? ›

The whole world is divided into 24 time zones, and Russia alone covers eleven of them, making it the country with the most consecutive time zones in the world. The time in Russia ranges from UTC+02:00 to UTC+12:00 (Coordinated Universal Time, which is the standard time the world regulates its clocks by).

Do you remember how many time zones are there in Russia? ›

In Russia, there are eleven time zones with current times ranging from UTC+02:00 to UTC+12:00. Since October 26, 2014, Russia has not used daylight saving time (DST).


Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Wyatt Volkman LLD

Last Updated: 06/12/2023

Views: 5317

Rating: 4.6 / 5 (46 voted)

Reviews: 93% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Wyatt Volkman LLD

Birthday: 1992-02-16

Address: Suite 851 78549 Lubowitz Well, Wardside, TX 98080-8615

Phone: +67618977178100

Job: Manufacturing Director

Hobby: Running, Mountaineering, Inline skating, Writing, Baton twirling, Computer programming, Stone skipping

Introduction: My name is Wyatt Volkman LLD, I am a handsome, rich, comfortable, lively, zealous, graceful, gifted person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.